Mikesmuses

Where are the children? At practice “playing”: a sport, the piano, mini (adult) me…

Leave a comment

I have found myself in some interesting conversations lately that had me contemplating what we do or maybe don’t do in the school system to look at the holistic needs of students.

During one such conversation I found myself explaining why a small collection of books might be better redistributed to a classroom library than held in the sacred shelves of a library room.  OK that may be a bit of an exaggeration on my part but the purpose of the conversation was two fold: to challenge status quo and second to prepare  a  room for a  makeover converting it to an on site fitness center for student and staff use.   To be fair, I think the professionals I was sharing conversation with were supportive of the direction from the start.

During another conversation I found myself, the only educator, among people from other professions reflecting on why high school math these days seems harder and more involved than math in our day.   I supposed it has something to do with preparing students for post secondary schooling but when did that standard change?

I found myself reflecting further about my sons experiences; one in last year of high school and one in first year university.  They seem to be working harder than I did.  I guess that might be good in some ways!  Good Job Boys! However, where in their busy academic lives is there time to look after themselves, to Sharpen the Saw?

Another observation, an interesting thing happens the day after Halloween each year.  Adults gather in small circles and reminisce about the crowded streets of our day compared to the twenty  kids that showed up at my door this year.  Where were the kids?  At home eating treats supplied by their parents? At adult organized community Halloween parties or the mall? Studying and cramming for tomorrow’s test?  What about the good old playful fun of trick or treating?

I came across an article today that I am sharing some snippets to appetize.  If you want to check out the provocative questions in the complete article click the link below.  Then come back and tell me what you think…

“Where are they? Indoors, doing homework or playing Nintendo. In all-day kindergarten or regulated daycare. Instead of pickup                              street hockey, they’re playing organized sports with regularly scheduled practices and games, supervised by grown-ups. They’re at                            Kumon or dance or art, or swimming or tae kwon do. The children of the upper middle class are busy, busy, busy, with schedules                                that would rival that of any CEO.”

“In play, children make their own decisions and solve their own problems,” Prof. Gray writes. “In adult-directed settings, children                              are weak and vulnerable. In play, they are strong and powerful. The play world is the child’s practice world for being an adult.”

“Kids today are exposed to enriching experiences my generation never dreamed of. They are stunningly accomplished. I’m glad I                              don’t have to compete with them.”

View the whole article and then come back and let me know what you think: http://preview.tinyurl.com/kqongg7

 

Leave a comment